Provision of Infirmary Service through Public-Private Partnership (Infirmary Service PPP)
HA collaborates with Po Leung Kuk through contracting to operate infirmary services at Wong Chuk Hang Hospital with a maximum capacity of 64 beds.
The Chinese version of these Frequently Asked Questions is for reference only. In case of ambiguity or conflict between the Chinese and the English versions, the English version shall prevail.

Updated as at 15 July 2017
clear

Patient

About the programme

Fee arrangement

Eligibility & enrollment methods

Follow-up arrangement

Expand All
  1. What is Infirmary Service PPP?
    To pilot a public‐private partnership model for the provision of infirmary services, the Hospital Authority (HA) has contracted with Po Leung Kuk, a non‐governmental organization (NGO), to operate a total of 64 infirmary beds in premises provided by HA at Wong Chuk Hang Hospital and to provide infirmary care services there for eligible applicants on the Central Infirmary Waiting List of HA general infirmary service (CIWL).
  2. Why there is an Infirmary Service PPP programme and what are the benefits to applicant?
    With ageing of the Hong Kong population, an increasing need for long term care services is expected. The Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Government (HKG) announced in his 2013 Policy Address that the HA would explore other modes of co‐operation with the private sector in order to strengthen the infirmary care services for public hospital patients.

    Currently, HA has been providing General Infirmary Services in hospital settings. However, as stated in previous Legislative Council Paper on Provision of Infirmary Care for Elders in a Non‐hospital Setting, it is not absolutely necessary that infirmary care must be provided in a hospital setting. For infirm applicants who are medically unstable, hospital‐based infirmary service will provide them with better care and life quality as they do not have to go through the repeated deterioration and readmission process. For those who are medically stable, hospitals may not be the most ideal places for them to receive care. Infirmary care outside hospitals will provide them with more homely and socialized environment without compromising the quality of care.

    In line with the Government’s policy direction and the benefits of developing a social infirmary service in the longer term, HA collaborates with a non‐governmental organization (NGO), Po Leung Kuk, to enhance the choices of infirmary care services for applicants on CIWL managed by HA.
  3. When will Infirmary Service PPP start?
    Po Leung Kuk plans to start admission of eligible applicants in around September 2016 for 32 infirmary beds at the service unit located in Wong Chuk Hang Hospital (PPP Service Unit) and to commence full operation in around December 2016 for a total of 64 infirmary beds at the PPP Service Unit for infirmary care service.
  4. Which NGO will provide infirmary care services under the Infirmary Service PPP?
    Po Leung Kuk
  5. For whom do the HA General Infirmary Service and the Infirmary Service PPP cater for?
    HA General Infirmary Service is positioned to cater for elders or disabled persons whose health conditions require long term medical care in hospital setting that are beyond the level of care provided by the welfare sector. The Infirmary Service PPP is positioned to cater for persons who require infirmary care services but are medically more stable. For them, hospital may not be the most ideal place to receive care. Instead, infirmary care in a social setting can provide them with more homely and socialized environment without compromising the quality of care.
  6. Who will be invited to participate in the Programme?

    HA will invite applicants on CIWL according to their registration dates on a first‐registered‐first‐call basis. Applicants under “priority application” on CIWL will not be invited as these applicants would require frequent admissions and significant clinical care in hospital setting. HA will invite applicants on CIWL via Responsible Officers* (RO) to join the programme on the terms set out in the invitation letter and the attachments to that letter. Applicants on CIWL do not need to apply by themselves.

    An invited applicant who (or his/her relative or legal guardian) agrees to choose the Infirmary Service PPP will be reassessed by the HA Community Geriatric Assessment Team (CGAT) for the applicant’s eligibility to join the Programme based on pre‐defined criteria.

    *Responsible Officer includes Social Worker/ Healthcare Professional of ‘Referring Office’. As stipulated in the SWD’s “Manual of Procedures on Registration and Allocation of Long Term Care Services (2006)”, the “Referring Offices” refers to:

    1. Integrated Family Service Centres (IFSCs)/Integrated Services Centres (ISCs);
    2. Medical Social Services Units (MSSUs);
    3. District Elderly Community Centres (DECCs);
    4. Neighbourhood Elderly Centres (NECs)/Social Centres for the Elderly (S/Es);
    5. Others service units e.g. Family and Child Protective Service Units (FCPSU), Counseling Units, Integrated Services Teams for Street Sleepers, etc. 
  7. For applicants with regular follow‐ups in HA, will it be affected after joining the Programme?
    The Service Users of Infirmary Service PPP (i.e. eligible applicants who have been admitted to the PPP Service Unit to receive infirmary care services under the Infirmary Service PPP) will continue to have access to public healthcare facilities as required, so as to receive treatment at HA including follow‐up treatments, medications and medical investigations in the outpatient clinics of HA, the accident and emergency service and inpatient service as required.
  8. Can I withdraw from the Infirmary Service PPP?
    If an invited applicant on CIWL would like to withdraw from the Infirmary Service PPP before he/she is admitted to the PPP Service Unit as a Service User, the applicant and/or his/her relative or legal guardian should notify RO who will notify HA on behalf of the applicant. Under this circumstance, the applicant will remain on CIWL for placement in the HA infirmary units.

    For withdrawal after admission to the Service Unit, please refer to question (9) below.

    After withdrawal, the applicant could request to rejoin the Infirmary Service PPP again after two years from the date of withdrawal. It will be subject to CGAT reassessment on eligibility of the applicant and HA will also take into consideration of vacant bed situation in the PPP Service Unit at that time.
  9. What if a Service User has accepted the placement under the Programme and has already been admitted to the Service Unit but requests to be listed again on CIWL for a placement in HA infirmary units?

    When the applicant is admitted to the Infirmary Service PPP Service Unit, his/ her name will be delisted from the CIWL.

    However, taking into consideration that the Infirmary Service PPP is a new service model and invited applicants had been waitlisting on CIWL for years, a Service User who has been admitted to the PPP Service Unit may raise a request through the RO to be listed again on CIWL for placement in the HA infirmary units provided that:

    ● he/she may exceptionally be placed back on CIWL based on his/her last registration date on CIWL (i.e. backdating arrangement) if his/her request for listing again on CIWL is raised within 6 months from his/her admission to the Service Unit; and

    ● there will be no exceptional backdating arrangement to place him/her on CIWL based on his/her last registration date on CIWL if his/her request for listing again on CIWL is raised on or after 6 months from his/her admission to the PPP Service Unit. His/her new registration date will be the receipt date of HA of the relevant request of Service User (i.e. the date of receipt by the office of HA CIWL of the request of Service User submitted by RO).

    Nevertheless, the Service User who has made such request would be allowed to stay at the PPP Service Unit until a placement in the HA infirmary unit is offered to him/her (subject to health conditions of the Service User).

  10. What if the health conditions of the Service User after admission to the Service Unit deteriorate?
    If after admission to the PPP Service Unit the health conditions of a Service User deteriorate and to an extent that he/she is considered by HA’s medical specialist as no longer satisfy the eligibility criteria for referral as described in the Programme Information Sheet  recommendation would be made by the HA’s medical specialist support, in consultation with Po Leung Kuk’s attending doctor, for transferring the Service User to an appropriate setting in HA for continuity of care based on his/her medical and clinical needs, and appropriate arrangement would be made if clinically indicated.
  11. What if the Programme terminates?
    The Infirmary Service PPP will be implemented on a pilot basis for three years and possible extension by two years subject to evaluation. If the contract between HA and Po Leung Kuk for the provision of infirmary care services by Po Leung Kuk under the Infirmary Services PPP expires or otherwise terminated, Po Leung Kuk will allow reasonable transitional time and coordinate with HA for arranging alternative placement to the Service Users, so as to have a smooth and efficient transition of services to the Service Users.
  12. What are the differences between PPP Service Unit and HA CI Unit?

    Below is a comparison between PPP Service Unit and HA CI Unit:

      PPP Service Unit HA CI Unit
    Medical care

    ● On‐site consultation and telephone support provided by Po Leung Kuk attending doctor

    ● Medical specialist support provided by HA doctor for Service Users on outreach basis and as necessary

    Medical care support provided by HA as inpatient
    Nursing care 24 hours nursing care provided by Po Leung Kuk nurses 24 hours nursing care provided by HA nurses
    Additional services Additional services will be provided by Po Leung Kuk to Service Users in need. Details will be provided by Po Leung Kuk. Nil
    Environmental setting More homely and socialized environment Hospital setting
    Visiting hours Daily, 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Hospital visiting hours
    Withdraw mechanism after admission

    Service User can request being listed again on CIWL

    ● Request raised within 6 months from admission, have backdate arrangement

    ● Request raised on or after 6 months from admission, no backdate arrangement

    Service User can wait at PPP Service Unit for offer of placement in HA CI Unit when bed in HA CI Unit is available (subject to health conditions of the Service User)

    Applicant admitted to HA CI Unit is not allowed to be listed again on CIWL for another placement in HA CI Unit
  13. What will be the service fees of Infirmary Service PPP and will formula milk be included?
    Under the Infirmary Service PPP, Service Users are required to pay Po Leung Kuk the same gazette fees and charges with HA General Infirmary Service. Service Users who are eligible for a waiver under the criteria set out in HA’s website relating to the Programme (http://www.ha.org.hk/ppp/infirmppp) (as amended from time to time at HA’s sole discretion) can enjoy the same fee waiver arrangements as for the HA’s services when he/she participates in the Programme. Po Leung Kuk should provide at least 3 meals a day or appropriate formula milk to the Service Users.

療養服務協作計劃
醫管局與保良局合作,以合約形式讓保良局在黃竹坑醫院營辦療養服務,提供最多64張病床。
本常見問題的中文版本僅供參考。倘中英文版本出現任何爭議或分歧,須以英文版本為準。

更新至2017年7月15日
clear

病人

計劃內容

費用安排

參與資格及方法

跟進安排

展開全部
  1. 療養服務協作計劃是甚麼?
    為試行以公私營協作模式提供療養服務,醫院管理局(醫管局)與非政府機構保良局簽訂合約。由醫管局在黃竹坑醫院提供地方,而保良局為醫管局中央療養服務合資格的申請人提供合共 64 張療養床位的療養服務。
  2. 為什麼要推出療養服務協作計劃,此計劃對申請人有什麼好處?
    隨著香港人口老化,對長期護理服務的需求將會不斷上升。香港政府行政長官在 2013 年施政報告中提出,醫管局將與私營機構探討合作模式,加強上向公立醫院病人提供療養服務。

    現時,醫管局在醫院環境下提供「一般療養服務」。然而,早期於立法會有關「在非醫院環境下為長者提供療養服務」的文件中亦指出,療養服務不一定要在醫院的環境下提供。對於病情反覆的體弱申請人而言,留在醫院接受療養服務可以免除他們因身體日漸轉差而需經常進出醫院的折騰,從而提升他們的生活及護理質素。但對於病情穩定的申請人,在醫院接受照顧未必是最理想的安排,反而醫院以外的療養服務讓他們可以在不影響護理質素下,在一個更近乎家居及貼近社區的環境生活。

    為配合政府的政策方向和發展社會療養服務帶來的長遠裨益,醫管局與非政府機構保良局合作,為轄下的中央療養服務輪候名冊內的申請人提供更多療養服務的選擇。
  3. 療養服務協作計劃何時開展?
    保良局計劃於大約 2016 年 9 月開始在於黃竹坑醫院的療養服務協作單位(療養服務協作單位)提供 32 張療養床位以供合資格申請人入住,並於約 2016 年 12 月起全面運作,於療養服務協作單位提供合共 64 張療養床位的療養服務。
  4. 療養服務協作計劃會由哪間非政府機構提供療養服務?
    保良局
  5. 醫管局中央療養服務與療養服務協作計劃的服務對象是什麼?
    醫管局中央療養服務旨在照顧一些健康狀況所需高於社福機構能夠提供的護理程度,並要在醫院環境接受長期醫療護理的長者或殘疾人士。療養服務協作計劃則旨在照顧需要療養服務而健康狀況較穩定的人士。對這些人士而言,醫院未必是他們接受護理的最佳環境。然而,社區環境的療養服務能夠提供較近乎家居和貼近社區的生活環境,保持生活質素。
  6. 哪些人會獲邀參加療養服務協作計劃?

    醫管局會根據申請人在中央輪候冊上登記日期的先後次序,邀請申請人參加計劃。符合中央療養服務「優先申請」資格的申請人,由於他們需要經常入住醫院及需在醫院接受高度醫療護理,故不會獲得邀請參與此計劃。醫管局會透過負責人員*邀請申請人按邀請信及附件所列之條款參與療養服務協作計劃。中央輪候冊申請人毋須自行提交申請。

    若申請人(或其家屬 / 法定監護人)同意參與計劃,社區老人評估小組會為申請人進行再評估,根據既定的準則評估申請人是否符合療養服務協作計劃的資格。

    *負責人員包括「轉介辦事處」之社會工作者/專業醫療人員。根據社會福利署《長期護理服務登記及編配程序手冊》(2006)所載,「轉介辦事處」包括:

    1. 綜合家庭服務中心/綜合服務中心;
    2. 醫務社會服務部;
    3. 長者地區中心;
    4. 長者鄰舍中心/長者活動中心;
    5. 其他服務單位,例如保護家庭及兒童服務課、輔導單位、露宿者綜合服務隊等。
  7. 申請人如需定期到醫管局覆診,參加療養服務協作計劃後會否受到影響?
    療養服務協作計劃下的服務使用者(即已入住療養服務協作單位接受療養服務協作計劃療養服務的合資格申請人)仍可按需要使用公共醫療服務,接受醫管局的治療,包括到醫管局的門診診所覆診、取藥及臨床檢驗,以及在有需要時使用急症和住院服務。
  8. 我可否退出療養服務協作計劃?

    倘若獲邀請之中央輪候冊申請人在入住療養服務協作單位前有意退出療養服務協作計劃,申請人及/或其家屬/法定監護人應通知「負責人員」,由其代表申請人通知醫管局。在此情況下,申請人將留在中央輪候冊,輪候編配醫管局的療養床位。

    入住療養服務協作單位後退出療養服務協作計劃的安排,請見問題(9)。

    申請人退出療養服務協作計劃後,可在退出日期起計兩年後提出要求再次參加療養服務協作計劃。申請人須再次接受社區老人評估小組評估以確定其資格,及醫管局會按當時療養服務協作單位的病床空缺狀況作出考慮。

  9. 如有服務使用者接受療養服務協作計劃編配並入住療養服務協作單位後,要求重返中央輪候冊輪候醫管局中央療養服務單位,會如何處理?

    申請人一旦入住療養服務協作單位,其名字會從醫管局中央輪候冊中剔除。

    醫管局鑒於療養服務協作計劃屬全新的服務模式,而服務使用者已在中央輪候冊輪候了一段時間,若已入住療養服務協作單位的服務使用者擬重返中央輪候冊輪候醫管局的療養單位,服務使用者可向負責人員提出有關要求,但需根據以下情況:

    ● 如其於入住療養服務協作單位日期起計6個月內提出要求重返中央輪候冊,其在中央輪候冊的登記日期可根據申請人上次在中央輪候冊上的登記日期特別回溯(即回溯安排)。

    ● 若重返中央輪候冊的要求是在入住療養服務協作單位日期起計6個月或之後提出,則不會作特別回溯安排。其新登記日期為醫管局收到服務使用者有關要求的日期(即醫管局中央輪候冊收到由負責人員提交服務使用者要求的日期)。

    然而,提出要求的服務使用者可留在療養服務協作單位,直至獲編配醫管局療養床位為止(需視乎服務使用者健康情況而定)。

  10. 如服務使用者於入住療養服務協作單位後健康狀況轉差,會如何處理?
    如果已入住療養服務協作單位的服務使用者健康狀況轉差,而醫管局的專科醫生評估其健康情況不再符合本計劃資料單張所述的準則,醫管局的專科醫生會與保良局的醫生進行會診,並根據服務使用者的醫療及臨床需要,於有需要時,轉介服務使用者於醫管局接受合適的持續護理,及作出相關安排。
  11. 如療養服務協作計劃終止,會如何處理?
    療養服務協作計劃將以試驗方式推行,為期三年,並會視乎檢討結果考慮把服務延長兩年。當醫管局與保良局的療養服務協作計劃合約屆滿或終止時,保良局會預留合理的過渡時間,與醫管局協調為服務使用者安排其他編配,提供一個順利及有效的服務過渡。
  12. 療養服務協作單位跟醫管局中央療養服務療養單位有何分別?

    下表列出療養服務協作單位跟醫管局中央療養服務療養單位的比較:

      療養服務協作單位 醫管局中央療養服務療養單位
    醫療照顧

    ● 由保良局的醫生提供到診及電話支援

    ● 醫管局的專科醫生會為有需要的服務使用者提供外展服務

    作為醫院住院病人,接受醫管局的醫療護理
    護理服務 由保良局護士提供24小時護理服務 由醫管局護士提供24小時護理服務
    額外服務 保良局會為有需要的服務使用者提供額外服務,保良局會提供有關詳情。
    環境 更近乎家居及貼近社區的環境 醫院環境
    探訪時間 每天上午九時至下午八時 按個別醫院的探訪時間
    入住後的退出機制

    服務使用者可要求重返中央輪候冊輪候醫管局療養床位

    ● 如其於入住療養服務協作單位日期起計6個月內提出要求重返中央輪候冊,可作回溯安排。

    ● 若重返中央輪候冊的要求是在入住療養服務協作單位日期起計6個月或之後提出,則不會作回溯安排。

    然而,服務使用者可留在療養服務協作單位,直至獲編配醫管局療養床位為止。(需視乎服務使用者健康情況而定)

    申請人入住醫管局中央療養服務的療養單位後,不可以要求重返中央輪候冊輪候醫管局其他醫院的療養單位。
  13. 療養服務協作計劃的收費如何,配方奶粉是否已經包括在內?
    在療養服務協作計劃下,服務使用者須按憲報所載的醫管局一般療養服務收費支付費用予保良局。根據醫管局有關療養服務協作計劃的網頁(http://www.ha.org.hk/ppp/infirmppp)所列準則(醫管局可不時按其絕對酌情權作出修訂)而合資格獲得豁免的服務使用者,可獲得與使用醫管局服務相同的費用減免安排。保良局需為服務使用者提供每日最少三餐或適當的配方奶。